History of Weeping Willow Baptist Church

The exact date of the origin of Weeping Willow Baptist Church is unknown. Although many documents were lost, the discovery of undated ledgers provided vital information as such.



Our history began in 1886. Weeping Willow was originally started in the town of McDade, Texas, in 1910 it was moved by Pastor Johnnie Williams to its current location of 1806 Hwy 290 E from land donated in support of Black residents. The church and the school house became both a place for worship and an institution for learning the youth. The McDade School Board moved in a new school building (Abandoned Schoolhouse from Siloah) next to the church in 1948, colored school continued here until the early 1960's it was then converted into the second church. Worship continued under this

roof through four pastors; Pastor Johnnie Williams, Pastor Evans, Pastor Hall, and Pastor W.B. Jones (1951-1978), the school house was demolished and remodeled to ensure a more stable structure for worship.

The new structure implemented a much-needed church cafeteria and baptism pool. Thereafter, T.L Garner, Sr. was appointed Pastor from 1978-1990. From 1990-2007, Pastor J.A Fowler pastured in the second location until fire destroyed the building on July 31,1995. Worship continued at the American Legion of McDade, Texas for three consecutive months awaiting the completion of the new structure.

After completion of the new church, Pastor J.A. Fowler pastored until his health prohibited him from carrying on his ministry. In January 2008, Pastor T.L Garner Jr. was installed in as church Pastor. Pastor Garner implemented many successful changes to Weeping Willow in efforts to further enhance the church ministry and capabilities which included the following: 25 passenger transportation bus, modern technology office area, landscaping, and a church library addition. Pastor Garner resigned from Pastor of The Willow in July 2017.

The pulpit remained vacant for a full year, but this didn't stop the Faith and progression of the saints and the continuation of changes to Weeping Willow. New Pulpit furniture was purchased to match the church pews, as well as a brand-new Piano. Worship continued each Sunday with our associate ministers and guest ministers bringing the message each Sunday. July of 2018 after much prayer and guidance from the Lord the church called upon Minister Justin O. Green to become our 8th Pastor. Pastor Green was installed into office on September 9, 2018. Under Pastor Greens leadership the church has continued to grow. Our Sunday School attendance has picked up especially in the areas of our youth, with 1st lady Green becoming our youth Sunday School teacher our youth are now active and give the lesson highlights each Sunday morning. Under the leadership of Pastor Green the Piano was paid off as well as a Amp purchased for it, Pastor Green also implemented a safety net to secure as a financial support system. On the morning of November 24th, 2018 at 6:56 am a reckless driver under the influence plowed through the west side of the sanctuary and driving through to the east side before deciding to back out. The church received a significant amount of damage rendering the sanctuary unsafe for occupation and worship. 14 pews was destroyed along with a section of both outer walls including all windows except one.



<u>The Fire & Crash Could Not Eradicate the Faith of a Congregation who</u> <u>trusted God.</u>

Weeping Willow Baptist Church

Pastors:

Rev. Johnnie Williams Rev. Evans Rev. Hall Rev. Walter B. Jones (1951-1978) Rev. T. L Garner, Sr. (1978-1990) Rev. J.A. Fowler (1990-2007) Rev. T.L Garner, Jr. (2008-2017) Pastor Justin O. Green (2018- Present)

Associate Ministers:

Rev. Charles Garcia Rev. Willie Moe Simmons Rev. Delbert Toney Rev. Jermareian Gillette Rev. Bobby Brown Rev. Ike Brooks Rev. Roosevelt Harris Rev. Ron Moore

Deacons:

Johnnie W. Washington Searcy Simmons Ollie Brown Monroe King- Chairman Lawrence Brown- Chairman Roosevelt Owens- Chairman Ralph Palmer- Assistant Chairman Freddie Owens- Present Chairman Norman Owens- Present Treasurer Harvey Randle- Present Reggie Caldwell- Present Forrest McMarion- Present Byron Caldwell- Present

Pastors Administrative Assistant:

Sis. Shay Campbell Sis. Berneada Brown Sis. Sharrah Jackson Deacon Byron Caldwell- Present

1st Ladies:

Sis. Angeline Williams Sis. Evans Sis. Hall Sis. Stella Mae Jones Sis. Alberta Garner Sis. Gloria Fowler Sis. Jeddie Diane Garner Sis. Shytavia Green- Present

Church Clerks:

Sis. Lugenia Washington Sis. Chesta King Sis. Lue Velma Owens Sis. Brenda Hornsby Sis. Patrice Owens Deacon Byron Caldwell- Present

Assistant Church Clerks:

Deacon Byron Caldwell Sis. Patrice Owens- Present

Musicians:

Sis. Stella Jones Sis. Kay Frances Terry-Present (60yrs)

Historian:

Deacon Byron Caldwell

