

State Bar of South Dakota Officers, Section Leadership, & Officers of Related Groups 2024-2025

Officers of the Bar

President, Sarah Sharp Theophilus, Sioux Falls

President Elect, John T. Richter, Pierre Paul Cremer, Executive Director & Secretary-Treasurer, Pierre

Board of Bar Commissioners

- 1st –Tyler Matson, Yankton
 2nd Caroline Srstka, Sioux Falls
 3rd David Strait, Watertown
 4th Kimberly Kinney, Spearfish
 5th Gerald McCabe, Aberdeen
 6th Justin Bell, Pierre
 7th Erika Olson, Rapid City
 AL Steven Blair, Rapid City
 AL Teramie L. Hill, Vermillion
 AL Stacy M. Johnson, Aberdeen
 AL Amber Mulder, Sioux Falls
- AL Kristen Edwards, Pierre

Access to Justice

Denise Langley, Coordinator, Pierre

American Board of Trial Advocates

Gregory Bernard, President Mark Arndt, President-Elect Jeffrey Hurd, Secretary/Treasurer William Garry, National Rep. Gary Thimsen, National Rep.

Board of Bar Examiners

Susan M. Sabers, Ch., Sioux Falls Jack H. Hieb, Aberdeen Cassidy Stalley, Rapid City Jane Wipf Pfeifle, Hon., Rapid City Reed Rasmussen, Aberdeen

Commission on Equal Access to Our Courts

Michelle Glodt, Pierre Lynn Hammerstrom, Belle Fourche Hon. Margo Northrup, Pierre Margo Tschetter Julius, Rapid City Sarah Wachal, Sioux Falls Tom Welk, Sioux Falls

Council of School Attorneys

Dwight Gubbrud, Pres., Belle Fourche Jane Farrell, VP, Hot Springs Jessica Filler, Sec/Treasurer, Pierre

Disciplinary Board

John W. Burke, Rapid City, Chair Amy Bartling Jacobsen, Gregory Jason Sutton, Sioux Falls Curt Everson, Lay Member, Pierre Randall B. Turner, Pierre Sheila S. Woodward, Yankton James Simko, Sioux Falls Robert B. Frieberg, Counsel, Beresford Tom Frieberg, Counsel, Beresford

Fellows of the American Bar Foundation

Bob Hayes, State Ch., Sioux Falls

In House Counsel Section Board of Directors

Nicole Tupman, President Jason Unger, President-Elect Jennifer Clites, Brookings Eric DeNure, Sioux Falls Shawna Hanson, Brookings Julie Johnson, Mina Adam Kirsch, Rapid City David Stoos, Sioux Falls Karly Winter, Pierre Colleen Zea, Sioux Falls

Judges Association

Hon. Jane Pfeifle, President Hon. Dawn Elshere, President-Elect Hon. Jon Sogn, Secretary-Treasurer Hon. Susan Sabers, Immediate Past Pres.

Judicial Qualifications Commission

Mark Haigh, Sioux Falls, Chair Rebecca Porter, Rapid City, Vice-Chair Timothy Engel, Fort Pierre Hon. Robert Gusinsky, Rapid City Hon. Cheryle Gering, Yankton Robert Morris, Belle Fourche Rory King, Aberdeen

Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers

Rebecca Porter, Co-Ch., Rapid City Mary Dell Cody, Yankton, Co-Ch., Kirsten Aasen, Rapid City Thomas Clayton, Sioux Falls Rvan Darling, Pierre John "Jack" Delaney, Rapid City William Delaney, III, Sioux Falls Frank Driscoll, Rapid City Henry Evans, Sioux Falls Gregg Greenfield, Sioux Falls Nicole Griese, Sioux Falls Sarah Baron Houy, Rapid City James Jeffries, Rapid City & FL Renae Kruse, Sioux Falls Robert Lewis, Rapid City James Margadant, Geneva MN Mark Marshall, Sturgis Boyd McMurchie, Sioux Falls Steve Miller, Nehalem, OR Gary Pashby, Sioux Falls Donald Porter, Rapid City Thomas Reynolds, Yankton Matthew Roby, Watertown Robert "Robbie" Rohl, Rapid City Barry Sackett, Sioux Falls

Local Bar Presidents

Clay-Union Bar - Katie Johnson First Circuit Bar - John P. Blackburn Yankton County Bar - Creighton Thurman Second Circuit Bar – Erin Willadsen Beadle County Bar - David Wheeler Brookings County Bar – Teree Nesvold Tri-County Bar County Bar - Not Active-Abby Oftedal is point of contact. Codington County Bar – James C. Roby Glacial Lakes Bar – Tom Sannes Brown County Bar – Jerry McNeary Rosebud Bar – Mason Juracek Pennington County Bar – Katelyn A. Cook Black Hills Criminal Defense Bar - Robbie Rohl Butte County Bar - Kellen Willert Fourth Circuit Bar - Keith R. Smit- no longer a member Fall River County Bar - VACANT

Public Sector Section Officers and Board of Directors

John Richter, President, Pierre Nolan Welker, Vice President, Pierre Kinsley Groote, Secretary, Rapid City Megan Borchert, Sioux Falls Carla Cushman, Rapid City Lisa Marso, Sioux Falls Dave Pfeifle, Sioux Falls

Real Property, Probate & Trust Section

Executive Council Jennifer Tomac, Chair Jerad Tomac, Chair-Elect Laura Hauser Bobby Thury Rachelle Norberg Shelia Woodward Brian Kirby Stephen Wesolick, Immediate Past Chair

SD Association of Criminal Defense

Lawyers

Jennifer Albertson, President, Rapid City Elizabeth Regalado, Vice President, Rapid City

Alecia Fuller, Treasurer, Rapid City Amber Whittington, Secretary, Sioux Falls

South Dakota Bar Foundation

Steve Huff, President, Yankton William Garry, Vice President, Sioux Falls Paul Cremer, Sec.-Treas., Pierre Heather Lammers Bogard, Rapid City Renee Christensen, Sioux Falls Pat Goetzinger, Rapid City Stephanie Judson, Pierre Lisa Marso, Sioux Falls Kimberley Mortenson, Pierre Thomas Frieberg, Gregory Pamela Reiter, Sioux Falls Anthony Sutton, Sioux Falls

South Dakota Code Commission

Margaret V. Gillespie, Ch., Sioux Falls Thomas E. Lee, Vice-Ch., Pierre Doug Decker, Pierre Rep. Steve Haugaard, Sioux Falls Sen. Arthur Rusch, Vermillion

SD Court Reporters Association

Cheri McComsey-Wittler, President Lisa Carlson, President-Elect Tammy Stolle, Secretary Maxine Risty, Treasurer Kelli Lardy, Past President

SD Defense Lawyers Association

Douglas Abraham, President Zachary Peterson, Vice President Nathan Chicoine, Secretary Meghann Joyce, Past President Meghann Joyce, DRI Representative **S.D. Defense Lawyers Directors:** Kody Kyriss, Pierre Tyler Haigh, Sioux Falls Lisa Prostrollo, Sioux Falls David Hieb, Sioux Falls Justin Smith, Sioux Falls Emily Smoraiewiscz, Rapid City

SD Municipal Attorneys Association

Matt Roby, President, Watertown Gary Blue, 1st Vice Pres., Wessington Springs Jeff Banks, 2nd Vice Pres., Huron Ross DenHerder, Director, Yankton Eric Davis, Director, Spearfish

S.D. Paralegal Association

(Elections held June each year) Jessi Stucke, ACP, CEDS, President Sara Huber, 1st Vice President Autumn Nelson, 2nd Vice President Jennifer Frederick, CP, Secretary Tasha Altmann, ACP, Treasurer Clara Kiley, CP Liaison

S.D. State's Attorneys Association

Dan Nelson, President, Brookings Lara Roetzel, Vice-President, Rapid City Eric Erickson, Exec. Dir., Sioux Falls

S.D. Trial Lawyers Association

Timothy Rensch, President, Rapid City Melissa Nicholson-Briet, Pres-Elect, Sioux Falls George Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer, Gregory Kasey Olivier, Past President, Sioux Falls Linda Stevens, Executive Director, Yankton

State Bar, ABA Delegates

Tamara Nash, YL, Sioux Falls Sarah Sharp Theophilus, State Bar, Sioux Falls Richard L. Travis, ABA, Sioux Falls

Student Bar Association

Taylor Bushelle, President, Vermillion

Trial Academy

Thomas J. Welk, Ch., Sioux Falls Melanie Carpenter, Sioux Falls Heather Lammers Bogard, Rapid City/Spearfish Stephanie Pochop, Gregory Reed Rasmussen, Aberdeen Clint Sargent, Sioux Falls

Uniform Law Commissioners

Tom E. Geu, CH. Vermillion Michael DeMersseman, Rapid City Michael Diedrich, Rapid City Mark Feinstein, Sioux Falls Brian G. Gosch, Rapid City Gene Lebrun, Rapid City Will Mortenson, Pierre

Women in Law

Isabelle Kremeier, President, Vermillion

Young Lawyers Section

Chelsea Wenzel, President, Pierre Mae Pochop, VP, Sioux Falls Lora Waeckerle, S/T, Rapid City Derrick Johnson, 1st Circuit, Brookings Tyler Bradley, 2nd Circuit, Sioux Falls Stacia Jackson, 3rd Circuit, Brookings Ryan Walno, 4th Circuit, Brookings Ryan Walno, 4th Circuit, Spearfish Rebecca Ronayne, 5th Circuit, Aberdeen Stephen Gemar, 6th Circuit, Pierre Olivia Edoff, 7th Circuit, Rapid City Cole Romey, At Large, Hot Springs Brock Brown, Law Student, Vermillion

Last Update: 2/19/2025